What Man Was Never Meant to Know
THE NATURE OF MAGIC IN SCOOBY FHTAGN
MAGIC, LORE, & SANITY
TOMES OF MAGIC & OCCULT LEARNING
SPELLS & SPELLCRAFT
- Learning a Spell Requires learning the Spell Cliche (you must have Cliche dice to spend in order to gain access to the spell).
- Learning a Spell Requires a number of days study equal to the Sanity Rating of the Spell.
- At the End of that study period, roll your most likely “spellcaster” cliche against a TN equal to 5 x the Spell’s Sanity.
- Whether you succeed or fail, roll your “spellcaster” cliche against the Spell’s Sanity Cliche. If you fail, you gain a Derangement, if you succeed, you don’t (unless you triple the Sanity’s roll, then you get to double pump the Spell, and you get a derangement).
Learning magic usually requires intensive study of Mythos Texts which describes a spell and gives instructions on how to cast it. Depending on the spell, this may require elaborate rituals involving knives, blood, and all manner of mind-ending nastiness. Some spells require only an incantation, or even a gesture, and once practiced a handful of times, may be cast without the original text in hand, others require the practitioner to read directly from the Tome in Question in order to perform the ritual.
To learn a spell, a character must spend a number of days studying the spell equal to the spell’s Sanity Cliche. At the end of that time, he makes two rolls. The first is to see if he did indeed learn the spell. Roll your “spellcaster” cliche (the Cliche which is most appropriate for such things, your GM has final arbitration about what inappropriate Cliches are too inappropriate – you may have to increase the Sanity Rating of the Spell in order to learn it). You’re rolling against a difficulty of 5 x the Spell’s Sanity Rating (don’t worry if a Spell seems impossible to learn – you may make multiple attempts, to learn a spell and your results stack).
Whether you succeed or fail, you then must make a Sanity Check. Roll your Spellcaster Cliche in a one-shot combat against the Sanity of the Spell. If you fail, you gain one Derangement, which you must immediately add to one of your cliches. Work out with your GM, what that derangement should be. Feel free to consult the page on Sanity for help guiding your decision. If you succeed, then great. You have looked into the face of madness and learned from it, your sanity is – somewhat – intact (you’re still crazy enough to run around trying to stop the forces of darkness from descending on mankind in the inevitable destruction that awaits us all). If you have the dice to spend, you gain a new spell cliche at rank one.
If you succeed by triple or more the spell’s Sanity roll, however, you succeed in learning the spell, and it is a double pumpable cliche. You must double pump the cliche any time you use it, and you gain a derangement, as if you’d failed the roll. Consult your GM as necessary.
|SPELLS & MAGIC|
|Baneful Dust of Hermes Trismegistus||Creates 1d6 ounces of dust. One dose (one ounce) inflicts one damage on any Mythos Entity. Add to any Cliche rolls used to attack Mythos Creatures.||2|
|Banish ( Specific Monster Type )||Roll Banish vs the Monster’s Sanity Cliche. If you succeed, the Monster is banished to its home planet or dimension at the GM’s discretion||2|
|Bind ( Specific Monster Type )||Once Bound, the specific monster type will obey all commands of the Master who’s bound it; though it will often try to escape (usually by taking advantage of ambiguously phrased commands).||8 +one automatic Derangement. 4 San to Cast.|
|Command ( Specific Monster Type )||Each time this spell is cast, a single command may be given to the type of monster to which the spell applies.||4|
|Contact ( Specific Monster Type )||Allows brief communication with one creature of the specified type. If no specific creature is named in the casting, the nearest such creature is reached. You and the creature can communicate regardless of whether you share a language, though you have no specific control over the entity (you may cast Command through this link, but at a −1 die penalty, −2 dice if the creature is on a different planet, and −3 dice if it is in a different dimension.||3|
|Dispel||Roll Dispel against the Spell Cliche of any ongoing spell effects in the scene. If you succeed, you immediately end the effect. If you fail, nothing happens.||2|
|Dust of Ibn Sultan||Creates 1d6 ounces of dust. One dose, if flung into the air, immediately reveals all invisible creatures or objects in the scene, making them visible until the end of the scene.||2|
|Elder Sign||A creature warded with the Elder Sign gains double pumped cliches and boxcars and blowouts against all Mythos creatuers. Each time the warded creature uses the sign, it must make a Sanity check against the Spell. If it fails, it gains a derangement, and the effect ends. You may also ward a circle with the Elder Sign (4 Sanity). Mythos Entities may not enter the warded circle for the duration of the scene, nor can they effect those within.||3/4|
|Enchant/Bless Item||Adds bonus dice to any one item.||4. 1 Sanity per bonus die added when cast.|
Get links to Enemies Allies and Everyone Else to add hashtag link to Things that Should not be.